Kolumba
Kolumbastraße 4
D-50667 Köln
tel +49 (0)221 9331930
fax +49 (0)221 93319333

     
January – July 2017
Notifications of an Indivisible Work
Pi-hsien Chen – Piano

In the course of this monographic series of concerts, Pi-hsien Chen will be presenting one outstanding composer of European Music History at a time, elucidating their unique traits of character as reflected in their –indivisible- work. In doing so, she will carefully explore the question of how construction and sentiment depend on each other in a work of art. »Within every artistic expression, we’ll find both an act of inclusion as well as one of exclusion. Through the intensity and coherence of such an experience we get literally guided into the work of art itself – which, at the same time, keeps its distance and the dignity of its art. ‚Individual’ may refer to the Undivided, but also carries the meaning of ‚non-participation’. It is precisely that space between opening up and closing in where our experience of art is taking place.« (Pi-hsien Chen). In her play, Pi-hsien Chen explores the present and the contemporary within classical music.

26 January 2017, 6 p.m.
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
Piano trios Op. 49 D Minor (1839) and Op. 66 C Minor (1845)
Willi Zimmermann – Violin / Pi-Chin Chien – Violoncello

»When performing together with Pi-Chin Chien and Willi Zimmermann I find myself not only admire their play, but also their instruments (an Stradivari violin and a Amati cello). To me, Mendelssohn’s music moves along a knife’s edge between pain and consolation, as it were.« (Pi-hsien Chen)


16 February 2017, 6 p.m.
Johann Sebastian Bach
The Art of the Fugue (1747–1750, unfinished)

»Bach’s Art of the Fugue is for me the highest form of knowledge, filled with Christian meaning and number symbolism. Its musical content is comparable to that of a Passion. In this work, Bach firmly established his legacy of counterpoint composing. The Art of the Fugue marks the highest execution of recognizable polyphony: it is the vibrant independence and the dependence of several voices at the same time.« (Pi-hsien Chen )

16 March 2017, 6 p.m.
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Variations and Piano Pieces

»When composers improvise, variations do arise: a theme inspiring to alteration, embellishment, and extension is set to be modified. Throughout Mozart’s variations, his communication with notes is turned and condensed into actions, quite similar to the individual parts in his operas, which are always met with a wise, elucidating ending. « (Pi-hsien Chen)

4 May 2017, 6 p.m.
Arnold Schönberg
Piano Solos op. 11, 19, 23, 25 and 33 a and b
(composed between 1909 and 1933)

»Schönberg’s music remains difficult to this day, particularly since it does not shy away from shaping rather complex sensations with an expressive atonality. To Schönberg, expression is of utmost importance, thus challenging the audience in a rather demanding way. « (Pi-hsien Chen)

29 June 2017, 6 p.m.
Franz Schubert
Three Sonatas

Sonata E-flat major D 568, Op. posthumous 122 (1817)
Sonata E major D 566 (1817)
Sonata G major D 894 (1826)

»Schubert knew he wouldn’t have much time left und that he had to carry on writing – on and on: ‚ A stranger I arrived, a stranger I depart ...’ , close to death.« (Pi-hsien Chen)

20 July, 6 p.m.
Domenico Scarlatti
Sonatas

»Having followed his student, the Portuguese Princess Maria Bárbara to the Spanish court, Scarlatti went on composing for her, all in all more than 550 sonatas. I find myself fascinated by the surprising as well as daring changes within his music. He was clearly inspired by plain folk music such as Flamenco and traditional folk songs, and yet his works are distinctly splendid, elegant, and aristocratic in style.« (Pi-hsien Chen)

Tickets: € 10 / 8,- | Limited seating capacity. Please reserve through KolumbaTicket@erzbistum-koeln.de


_

Art museum of the
Archdiocese of Cologne

Current events
Architecture
Exhibitions
Awards
Videos
Information
Chapel
Reviews
Museums-History
Publications
Essays
Events
Education

08/17 Ten Years Kolumba
04/17 Artist Talk
01/17 Series of Concerts
11/16 10th Soundworkshop
06/16 Eric Hattan & Julian Sartorius
06/15 FORSETI feat. subsTANZ
06/15 Cologne Opera
03/15 Animated Cartoon Workshop
11/14 Soundtrack (Achim Lengerer)
11/14 Edith Stein Conference
11/14 Sound Workshop
10/14 Philosophical Discussion
10/14 Albert-Talk
10/14 Seminar on Philosophy
06/14 Visiting Schools III
02/14 Barlach-Haus
11/13 Dance performance
11/13 Sound Workshop
10/13 E-MEX-Ensemble
10/13 4th Albert-Discussion
05/13 Performances
03/13 Horatiu Radulescu
11/12 Sound Workshop
10/12 E-MEX-Ensemble
09/12 Girls' Choir
08/12 Cage: Empty Words
08/12 Hosting Schools II
08/12 Many thanks to all of the...
07/12 Table Talks
06/12 Table Concert
06/12 The chamber of meditation
05/12 episteme
05/12 new talents
04/12 Cage: A Collection of Rocks
03/12 Cage: Number Pieces
03/12 Hans Otte
11/11 Sound Workshop
09/11 Imploding Desk
07/11 Finissage
07/11 Schulen zu Gast I
11/10 Sound Workshop
11/10 Joseph Marioni
06/10 Steffen Krebber
05/10 Holy-Spirit Retable
02/10 Bernhard Leitner
02/10 Ash Wednesday
11/09 Sound Workshop
11/08 Workshop
10/08 Donaueschingen Festival
06/08 Kolumba is singing!
04/07 Art Cologne
08/05 1st view!
12/04 The Pietà from St. Kolumba
11/03 Schauspielhaus Köln
 

 
www.kolumba.de

KOLUMBA :: Events :: 01/17 Series of Concerts

January – July 2017
Notifications of an Indivisible Work
Pi-hsien Chen – Piano

In the course of this monographic series of concerts, Pi-hsien Chen will be presenting one outstanding composer of European Music History at a time, elucidating their unique traits of character as reflected in their –indivisible- work. In doing so, she will carefully explore the question of how construction and sentiment depend on each other in a work of art. »Within every artistic expression, we’ll find both an act of inclusion as well as one of exclusion. Through the intensity and coherence of such an experience we get literally guided into the work of art itself – which, at the same time, keeps its distance and the dignity of its art. ‚Individual’ may refer to the Undivided, but also carries the meaning of ‚non-participation’. It is precisely that space between opening up and closing in where our experience of art is taking place.« (Pi-hsien Chen). In her play, Pi-hsien Chen explores the present and the contemporary within classical music.

26 January 2017, 6 p.m.
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
Piano trios Op. 49 D Minor (1839) and Op. 66 C Minor (1845)
Willi Zimmermann – Violin / Pi-Chin Chien – Violoncello

»When performing together with Pi-Chin Chien and Willi Zimmermann I find myself not only admire their play, but also their instruments (an Stradivari violin and a Amati cello). To me, Mendelssohn’s music moves along a knife’s edge between pain and consolation, as it were.« (Pi-hsien Chen)


16 February 2017, 6 p.m.
Johann Sebastian Bach
The Art of the Fugue (1747–1750, unfinished)

»Bach’s Art of the Fugue is for me the highest form of knowledge, filled with Christian meaning and number symbolism. Its musical content is comparable to that of a Passion. In this work, Bach firmly established his legacy of counterpoint composing. The Art of the Fugue marks the highest execution of recognizable polyphony: it is the vibrant independence and the dependence of several voices at the same time.« (Pi-hsien Chen )

16 March 2017, 6 p.m.
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Variations and Piano Pieces

»When composers improvise, variations do arise: a theme inspiring to alteration, embellishment, and extension is set to be modified. Throughout Mozart’s variations, his communication with notes is turned and condensed into actions, quite similar to the individual parts in his operas, which are always met with a wise, elucidating ending. « (Pi-hsien Chen)

4 May 2017, 6 p.m.
Arnold Schönberg
Piano Solos op. 11, 19, 23, 25 and 33 a and b
(composed between 1909 and 1933)

»Schönberg’s music remains difficult to this day, particularly since it does not shy away from shaping rather complex sensations with an expressive atonality. To Schönberg, expression is of utmost importance, thus challenging the audience in a rather demanding way. « (Pi-hsien Chen)

29 June 2017, 6 p.m.
Franz Schubert
Three Sonatas

Sonata E-flat major D 568, Op. posthumous 122 (1817)
Sonata E major D 566 (1817)
Sonata G major D 894 (1826)

»Schubert knew he wouldn’t have much time left und that he had to carry on writing – on and on: ‚ A stranger I arrived, a stranger I depart ...’ , close to death.« (Pi-hsien Chen)

20 July, 6 p.m.
Domenico Scarlatti
Sonatas

»Having followed his student, the Portuguese Princess Maria Bárbara to the Spanish court, Scarlatti went on composing for her, all in all more than 550 sonatas. I find myself fascinated by the surprising as well as daring changes within his music. He was clearly inspired by plain folk music such as Flamenco and traditional folk songs, and yet his works are distinctly splendid, elegant, and aristocratic in style.« (Pi-hsien Chen)

Tickets: € 10 / 8,- | Limited seating capacity. Please reserve through KolumbaTicket@erzbistum-koeln.de

Kolumba
Kolumbastraße 4
D-50667 Köln
tel +49 (0)221 9331930
fax +49 (0)221 93319333

     
Januar – Juli 2017
Mitteilungen vom unteilbaren Werk
Pi-hsien Chen – Klavier

In dieser monographischen Konzertreihe wird Pi-hsien Chen je einen herausragenden Komponisten der europäischen Musikgeschichte präsentieren unter dem Gesichtspunkt seiner individuellen Eigenart, die sich im unteilbaren Werk manifestiert. Sie spürt der Frage nach, wie sich Konstruktion und Empfindung im Kunstwerk gegenseitig bedingen. »In jeder individuellen Äußerung eines Künstlers liegt ein Ein- und ein Ausschluss. Durch die Stimmigkeit und Intensität des Erlebens werden wir in ein Werk buchstäblich mit hineingenommen. Aber im selben Moment wahrt es auch Distanz und die Dignität seiner Kunst. ‚Individuum‘ kann das Ungeteilte bedeuten, aber auch das, was nicht teilnimmt. In dieser Spanne zwischen sich Öffnen und Verschließen findet unser Kunsterleben statt.« (Pi-hsien Chen) Pi-hsien Chen entdeckt in ihrem Spiel die Gegenwart und das Zeitgenössische in klassischer Musik.

26. Januar 2017, 18 Uhr (ausverkauft!)
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
Trios Op. 49 d-moll (1839) und Op. 66 c-moll (1845)
Willi Zimmermann – Violine / Pi-Chin Chien – Violoncello

»Im Zusammenspiel mit Pi-Chin Chien und Willi Zimmermann bewundere ich nicht nur ihr Spiel, sondern auch ihre Instrumente (eine Stradivari-Geige und ein Amati-Cello). Mendelssohns Musik bewegt sich für mich wie auf Messers Schneide zwischen Schmerz und Tröstung.« (Pi-hsien Chen)

16. Februar 2017, 18 Uhr (ausverkauft!)
Johann Sebastian Bach
Die Kunst der Fuge (1747–1750, unvollendet)

»Für mich ist Bachs Kunst der Fuge die höchste Form von Erkenntnis, erfüllt mit christlicher Bedeutung und Zahlensymbolik. Ihr musikalischer Gehalt ist einer Passion vergleichbar. In diesem Werk hat Bach sein Vermächtnis kontrapunktischen Komponierens enggeführt. Die Kunst der Fuge ist höchste Ausführung erkennbarer Polyphonie: lebendige Unabhängigkeit und Abhängigkeit mehrerer Stimmen gleichzeitig.« (Pi-hsien Chen )


16. März 2017, 18 Uhr (ausverkauft)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Variationen und Klavierstücke

»Wenn Komponisten improvisieren, entstehen Variationen: ein Thema, das zur Veränderung, Ausschmückung und Erweiterung inspiriert wird verändert. In Mozarts Variationen entwickelt und verdichtet sich sein Reden mit den Noten zu Handlungen, ähnlich den einzelnen Rollen in seinen Opern, und es findet sich stets ein weises, erhellendes Ende.« (Pi-hsien Chen)

4. Mai 2017, 18 Uhr
Arnold Schönberg
Das Solo-Klavierwerk
Klavierstücke Op. 11, 19, 23, 25 und 33 a und b
(entstanden zwischen 1909 und 1933)

»Schönbergs Musik bleibt bis heute schwierig, auch weil sie sich nicht davor scheut, komplexe Gefühle mit Atonalität expressiv zu formulieren. Ausdruck hat bei Schönberg höchste Priorität. Damit fordert er seine Hörer heraus.« (Pi-hsien Chen)

29. Juni 2017, 18 Uhr
Franz Schubert
Drei Sonaten

Sonate Es-Dur DV 568, Op. posthumus 122 (1817)
Sonate e-moll D 566 (1817)
Sonate G-Dur DV 894 (1826)

»Schubert wusste, dass seine Zeit knapp war und dass er sich beeilen musste zu schreiben – immer weiter: ‚Fremd bin ich eingezogen, fremd ziehe ich wieder aus...‘, dem Tode nahe.« (Pi-hsien Chen)

20. Juli, 18 Uhr
Domenico Scarlatti
Sonaten

»Scarlatti war seiner Schülerin, der portugiesischen Prinzessin Maria Bárbara, an den spanischen Hof gefolgt und komponierte dort weiterhin für sie, insgesamt über 550 Sonaten. Mich faszinieren die sehr überraschenden und kühnen Wechsel in Scarlattis Musik. Er war inspiriert von einfacher Volksmusik (Flamenco und Liedern), und doch sind seine Werke stets glanzvoll elegant und aristokratisch.« (Pi-hsien Chen)

Eintritt: € 10 / 8,- | Die Platzzahl ist begrenzt. Kartenreservierung unter KolumbaTicket@erzbistum-koeln.de


_

Kunstmuseum
des Erzbistums Köln

Aktuell
Architektur
Ausstellungen
Filme
Info
Kapelle
Kritiken
Museumsgeschichte
Publikationen
Texte
Veranstaltungen
Vermittlung

06/17 Vortrag Rüdiger Joppien
04/17 Künstlergespräch
03/17 Schulen zu Gast V
03/17 Künstlergespräch
01/17 Konzertreihe
11/16 Klangwerkstatt
11/16 Konzert E-MEX Ensemble
10/16 VII. Albert Gespräch
07/16 Erzählter Vortrag
06/16 Schulen zu Gast IV
06/16 Eric Hattan & Julian Sartorius
06/16 Oper Köln - Liederabend
05/16 new talents
05/16 Harvey Death of Light
12/15 Trickfilmwerkstatt
11/15 Ukulelen-Ensemble
11/15 Lesewerkstatt
11/15 Klangwerkstatt
10/15 E-MEX Ensemble
10/15 Winterreise
10/15 Albert-Gespräch
09/15 European Workshop
09/16 Lesestunde
09/15 Lesung Navid Kermani
08/15 Love & Diversity
07/15 Ensemble Unterwegs
06/15 FORSETI feat. subsTANZ
06/15 Oper Köln zu Gast
03/15 Trickfilmwerkstatt
11/14 Tonspur (Achim Lengerer)
11/14 Edith Stein Tagung
11/14 Klangwerkstatt
10/14 Philosophisches Gespräch
10/14 E-MEX-Ensemble
10/14 Albert-Gespräch
10/14 Philosophisches Seminar
06/14 Schulen zu Gast III
05/14 Ensemble Garage
05/14 Veranstaltungen Intervention
04/14 start:review
04/14 West Coast Soundings
02/14 Barlach-Haus
12/13 Ukulelen-Ensemble
11/13 Tanzperformance
11/13 Klangwerkstatt
10/13 E-MEX-Ensemble
10/13 Albert-Gespräch
07/13 Katrin Zenz
06/13 Frank Gratkowski
06/13 HornroH Duo
05/13 Performances
03/13 Horatiu Radulescu
11/12 Klangwerkstatt
10/12 E-MEX-Ensemble
09/12 Mädchenkantorei
08/12 Cage: Empty Words
08/12 Schulen zu Gast II
08/12 Allen Malern herzlichen...
07/12 Tischgespräche
06/12 Tischkonzert
06/12 Kammer der Andacht
05/12 episteme
05/12 new talents
04/12 Cage: A Collection of Rocks
03/12 Cage: Number Pieces
03/12 Hans Otte
11/11 Klangwerkstatt
10/11 Albert-Gespräch
09/11 Implodierender Schreibtisch
07/11 Finissage
07/11 Schulen zu Gast I
11/10 Klangwerkstatt
11/10 Joseph Marioni
10/10 Albert-Gespräch
06/10 Steffen Krebber
05/10 Heilig-Geist-Retabel
02/10 Bernhard Leitner
02/10 Aschermittwoch
11/09 Klangwerkstatt
09/09 Andor Weininger
11/08 Klangwerkstatt
10/08 Donaueschinger Musiktage
06/08 Kolumba singt!
05/08 Katholikentag
04/08 Verabschiedung JMP
02/08 Alphornbläser
12/07 Deutschlandradio live
04/07 Art Cologne
08/05 1st view!
12/04 Die Pietà aus St. Kolumba
11/03 Schauspielhaus Köln
 

 
www.kolumba.de

KOLUMBA :: Veranstaltungen :: 01/17 Konzertreihe

Januar – Juli 2017
Mitteilungen vom unteilbaren Werk
Pi-hsien Chen – Klavier

In dieser monographischen Konzertreihe wird Pi-hsien Chen je einen herausragenden Komponisten der europäischen Musikgeschichte präsentieren unter dem Gesichtspunkt seiner individuellen Eigenart, die sich im unteilbaren Werk manifestiert. Sie spürt der Frage nach, wie sich Konstruktion und Empfindung im Kunstwerk gegenseitig bedingen. »In jeder individuellen Äußerung eines Künstlers liegt ein Ein- und ein Ausschluss. Durch die Stimmigkeit und Intensität des Erlebens werden wir in ein Werk buchstäblich mit hineingenommen. Aber im selben Moment wahrt es auch Distanz und die Dignität seiner Kunst. ‚Individuum‘ kann das Ungeteilte bedeuten, aber auch das, was nicht teilnimmt. In dieser Spanne zwischen sich Öffnen und Verschließen findet unser Kunsterleben statt.« (Pi-hsien Chen) Pi-hsien Chen entdeckt in ihrem Spiel die Gegenwart und das Zeitgenössische in klassischer Musik.

26. Januar 2017, 18 Uhr (ausverkauft!)
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
Trios Op. 49 d-moll (1839) und Op. 66 c-moll (1845)
Willi Zimmermann – Violine / Pi-Chin Chien – Violoncello

»Im Zusammenspiel mit Pi-Chin Chien und Willi Zimmermann bewundere ich nicht nur ihr Spiel, sondern auch ihre Instrumente (eine Stradivari-Geige und ein Amati-Cello). Mendelssohns Musik bewegt sich für mich wie auf Messers Schneide zwischen Schmerz und Tröstung.« (Pi-hsien Chen)

16. Februar 2017, 18 Uhr (ausverkauft!)
Johann Sebastian Bach
Die Kunst der Fuge (1747–1750, unvollendet)

»Für mich ist Bachs Kunst der Fuge die höchste Form von Erkenntnis, erfüllt mit christlicher Bedeutung und Zahlensymbolik. Ihr musikalischer Gehalt ist einer Passion vergleichbar. In diesem Werk hat Bach sein Vermächtnis kontrapunktischen Komponierens enggeführt. Die Kunst der Fuge ist höchste Ausführung erkennbarer Polyphonie: lebendige Unabhängigkeit und Abhängigkeit mehrerer Stimmen gleichzeitig.« (Pi-hsien Chen )


16. März 2017, 18 Uhr (ausverkauft)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Variationen und Klavierstücke

»Wenn Komponisten improvisieren, entstehen Variationen: ein Thema, das zur Veränderung, Ausschmückung und Erweiterung inspiriert wird verändert. In Mozarts Variationen entwickelt und verdichtet sich sein Reden mit den Noten zu Handlungen, ähnlich den einzelnen Rollen in seinen Opern, und es findet sich stets ein weises, erhellendes Ende.« (Pi-hsien Chen)

4. Mai 2017, 18 Uhr
Arnold Schönberg
Das Solo-Klavierwerk
Klavierstücke Op. 11, 19, 23, 25 und 33 a und b
(entstanden zwischen 1909 und 1933)

»Schönbergs Musik bleibt bis heute schwierig, auch weil sie sich nicht davor scheut, komplexe Gefühle mit Atonalität expressiv zu formulieren. Ausdruck hat bei Schönberg höchste Priorität. Damit fordert er seine Hörer heraus.« (Pi-hsien Chen)

29. Juni 2017, 18 Uhr
Franz Schubert
Drei Sonaten

Sonate Es-Dur DV 568, Op. posthumus 122 (1817)
Sonate e-moll D 566 (1817)
Sonate G-Dur DV 894 (1826)

»Schubert wusste, dass seine Zeit knapp war und dass er sich beeilen musste zu schreiben – immer weiter: ‚Fremd bin ich eingezogen, fremd ziehe ich wieder aus...‘, dem Tode nahe.« (Pi-hsien Chen)

20. Juli, 18 Uhr
Domenico Scarlatti
Sonaten

»Scarlatti war seiner Schülerin, der portugiesischen Prinzessin Maria Bárbara, an den spanischen Hof gefolgt und komponierte dort weiterhin für sie, insgesamt über 550 Sonaten. Mich faszinieren die sehr überraschenden und kühnen Wechsel in Scarlattis Musik. Er war inspiriert von einfacher Volksmusik (Flamenco und Liedern), und doch sind seine Werke stets glanzvoll elegant und aristokratisch.« (Pi-hsien Chen)

Eintritt: € 10 / 8,- | Die Platzzahl ist begrenzt. Kartenreservierung unter KolumbaTicket@erzbistum-koeln.de